A passion for excellence

  • THOSS MEDIA RSS
  • THOSS MEDIA ON XING
  • THOSS MEDIA ON TWITTER
  • Solid growth with content marketing

    CLEO Workshop

    OSA invited me to give a workshop on Effective Scientific Writing at CLEO conference.

    The content marketing boom has finally arrived at THOSS Media with some nice outcome: The revenue for 2016 has increased by approximately 35%, mainly due to several annual orders for high quality PR texts. Plans for 2017? Further growth and hopefully some additional workforce.

    Around the world with EuroBlech

    So far THOSS Media has been a one man show, where I realize many projects through long-term partnerships with like-minded persons and companies. In 2016 Niko Fecht joined this network. He is a gifted writer with decades of experience working for the German mechanical engineering industry. Together we won a contract to support EuroBlech with some high value PR. With more than 60,000 visitors the EuroBlech is the biggest trade show for sheet metal processing in the world and the organizers from Mack Brooks Exhibitions Ltd communicate their PR in 12 different languages. Supported by this massive propaganda our whitepaper „Quo vadis Industry 4.0?“ made it to various trade magazines around the world, namely in Singapur, India, Malaysia, Brazil, America and almost all European industrialized countries.

    Feature articles (not only) for the Fraunhofer society

    The German Fraunhofer society is one of the most important customers of THOSS Media. Within the last two years I could win several annual contracts from different institutes of this society. Beside a lot of PR support, last year also brought orders for a number of feature articles such as the text on ultrathin mobile cameras for the Fraunhofer IOF in Jena. Another interesting field was covered in a piece for the 3Dsensation consortium with a feature on men-machine interaction in the German B2B magazine MaschinenMarkt.

    Editorial partnership helps in social media too

    Last September I received a surprising email: After I submitted several texts for clients to the American magazine Laser Focus World Conard Holton contacted me. Conard is the responsible publisher in the LFW team and asked me if I would be interested to write more regularly for them. OF COURSE! I read this magazine for ages and tight relations to editors is one of the main assets of my work.

    In the meantime, a considerable list of blogposts has been created there. And about every second week I add another one. With some interesting effect: Thanks to the large outreach of Laser Focus World with about 70.000 subscribers my post on new  LIDAR-Systems for autonomous cars received considerable attention on LinkedIn with more than 100 Likes on my profile and at the site of the Qanergy CEO.

    2017: Lots of PR, Workshops and … a vacancy!

    And what are the plans for 2017? First it looks like lots of work. Beside the agency business there will be ongoing development at the scientific journal Advanced Optical Technologies. In 2016 AOT has been selected for the scopus ranking (CiteScore). This drives traffic and submissions. The content plan for 2017 is almost completed, after an issue with unsolicited submissions a few days ago there will be some more topical issues with mainly invited content.

    And the will be new Workshops: After some orders from the Optical Society of America OSA in 2016 I will do some more events in Europe such as a Workshop on Journal Publishing at the Mediacampus Frankfurt on April 4 and 5. This will be done together with Bas Straub.

    This is a tough program and it calls for some support. I am still working on an official document for the vacant position, but first candidates have already been contacted. If you are interested, just call or send an email.

Wir verstehen & realisieren

  • THOSS MEDIA RSS
  • THOSS MEDIA ON XING
  • THOSS MEDIA ON TWITTER
  • Solides Wachstum durch Content Marketing

    Workshop „Effective Scientific Writing“ auf der CLEO Konferenz in San Jose, CA, USA.

    Der Boom beim Content Marketing hat sich auch bei THOSS Media niedergeschlagen: Nach ersten Schätzungen dürfte der Umsatz 2016 um etwa 35% gestiegen sein. Hintergrund sind vor allem mehrere Jahresaufträge für hochwertige PR Texte. Neu ist auch eine Partnerschaft mit dem amerikanischen Fachmagazin Laser Focus World. Pläne für 2017? Weiter so! Und bitte mit Personalverstärkung…

    Whitepaper für EuroBlech geht um die Welt

    Bei THOSS Media entwickle ich oft und gern langjährige Partnerschaften mit Gleichgesinnten. 2016 ist Niko Fecht dazu gekommen, ein Schreiber mit jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung in den Bereichen Maschinenbau und Materialwissenschaft. Gemeinsam haben wir einen Auftrag zur EuroBlech gewonnen. Die EuroBlech ist mit über 60.000 Besuchern die größte Blechmesse der Welt und Messeveranstalter Mack Brooks Exhibitions Ltd kommuniziert sie dementsprechend in 12 verschiedenen Sprachen. Das hatte den tollen Effekt, dass unser Whitepaper „Quo vadis Industrie 4.0?“ in verschiedensten Fachzeitschriften rund um die Welt abgedruckt oder diskutiert wurde. Mit dabei waren Singapur, Indien, Malaysia, Brasilien, Amerika und fast alle europäischen Industriestaaten.

    Fachartikel (nicht nur) für die Fraunhofergesellschaft

    Zu den wichtigsten Kunden von THOSS Media gehört die Fraunhofergesellschaft. Mehrere Institute haben inzwischen Jahresaufträge vereinbart. Neben vielen Pressemitteilungen gehören jetzt auch komplette Fachbeiträgen dazu, wie zum Beispiel der Beitrag zu ultradünnen Kameras für Mobiltelefone für das Fraunhofer IOF in Jena. Spannend war in dem Kontext auch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem 3Dsensation Konsortium für eine Publikation über Mensch-Maschine-Interaktionen im MaschinenMarkt.

    Partnerschaft mit Laser Focus World hilft in sozialen Netzen

    Im September gab es eine überraschende Anfrage: Nach einigen Artikeln für Laser Focus World fragte der zuständige Publisher Conard Holton, ob ich nicht Lust hätte, für LFW als Contributing Editor Germany regelmäßig zu schreiben? Na und ob! Inzwischen gibt es eine ganze Liste von Beiträgen und etwa alle zwei Wochen kommt ein neuer Text dazu. Dank der Reichweite der Laser Focus World mit etwa 70.000 Abonnenten hat zum Beispiel der Artikel zu neuen LIDAR-Systemen für autonomes Fahren auch auf LinkedIn mit insgesamt über 100 Likes erhebliches Interesse bei mir und bei dem CEO von Qanergy bekommen.

    2017: Viel PR, Workshops und Verstärkung

    Und wie geht es 2017 weiter? Content rules könnte man sagen, es gibt viel Arbeit bei allen Projekten. Neben den reinen Agenturprojekten gehört dazu auch noch das Fachjournal Advanced Optical Technologies. AOT wurde 2016 in das scopus Ranking (CiteScore) aufgenommen und bekommt zunehmend mehr Artikel. Nach dem „freien“ Heft 1/2017 werden allerdings noch die Hefte mit eingeladenen Inhalten kommen.

    Bei den Workshops gibt es nach mehreren Aufträgen der Optical Society of America OSA im vergangenen Jahr jetzt neue Anfragen aus Europa, so werde ich zusammen mit Bas Straub am 4. und 5. April einen Workshop zum Journal Publishing auf dem Mediacampus Frankfurt halten.

    Bei all dem suche ich jetzt auch Unterstützung. Eine Ausschreibung folgt noch, aber wer Interesse hat als Redaktionsassistenz in Teilzeit bei THOSS Media anzufangen, kann sich gern bei mir melden. Die Aufgaben liegen in den Bereichen Recherche und Arbeit mit wissenschaftlichen Autoren. Interessenten sind herzlich eingeladen, sich per email oder Telefon bei mir zu melden.